India eyes for whitewash against Sri Lanka

Rohit Sharma practices ahead of 3rd T20

With the series already bagged, India might prefer to give some of the bench players a chance but there will be no let-up in the intensity as they eye a complete whitewash against Sri Lanka in the third and final T20I in Mumbai on Sunday.

For the island team, it has been a forgetful year, and the two recent big defeats against India have just added to their misery. While the hosts thrashed Sri Lanka by 93 runs in the 1st match at Cuttack, they outclassed them by 88 runs in Indore to seal the series in their favor. The visitors also lost the ODIs 1-2 and drew a blank in the Test series held earlier.

On the other hand, India have been cruising across all formats and would surely look to end a successful year with another thumping win ahead of a tough tour of South Africa where they play three Tests, six ODIs and three T20s.

The constant one-sided results may not be an ideal preparation for India for the upcoming tour, but the positive thing is that in absence of seniors including inspirational captain Virat Kohli, the youngsters have taken responsibility and delivered in the T20s and ODIs.

Be it K L Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey or the experienced campaigner Mahendra Singh Dhoni — all have chipped in when needed and coach Ravi Shastri would expect them to fire big time on Sunday. Especially Rahul, who already has two fifties to his credit, would surely want to add one more to his kitty and make a strong statement before the team’s upcoming tour.

Overall the Wankhede wicket has favored the batsmen in the past but scores as high as 190 have been chased in T20 games in Mumbai. Considering the form of Indian batsmen spectators can see another run-feast on Sunday.


India: Rohit Sharma (C), K L Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Basil Thampi and Jaydev Unadkat.

Sri Lanka: Thisara Perera(C), Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Kusal Janith Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dasun Shanaka, Chaturanga de Silva, Sachith Pathirana, Dananjaya De Silva, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishwa Fernando and Dusmantha Chameera.