Elections Schedule for Meghalaya, Tripura & Nagaland announced

Elections in Meghalaya, Tripura, Nagaland

The Election Commission today announced the schedule for the north eastern states of Meghalaya, Tripura and Nagaland Assembly elections.

Tripura will go for vote in a single phase on February 18, while Meghalaya and Nagaland will go to polls on February 27.

With this announcement, the model code of conduct has been imposed in the three north-eastern states.

The term of the Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura legislative assemblies is ending on March 6, March 13 and March 14 respectively. The strength of the three assemblies is 60 members each.

Chief Election Commissioner AK Jyoti said EVM machines with VVPAT option will be used in all the three states.

More details will come out by evening on the scheduled elections.